Richard HarrisRichard Harris

WA Independent Power Association

Richard has more than 30 years’ experience in the public and private sectors in the energy industry in WA.
Richard has been a Director of West Australian-based renewable energy development company WestGen since February 2010. WestGen is developer of the 30MW Byford Solar Farm, which will be begin commercial operations in the first half of 2018.

Richard’s previous roles include General Manager Commercial for Aviva Corporation, developer of the Coolimba Power Project, Project Director for the development of NewGen’s Neerabup Power Station, and WA Director for NewGen Power and ERM Power.

Prior to taking up his private sector roles, Richard had a long career in Government, serving both Coalition and Labor Governments as a Director in the Office of Energy, with responsibilities for the early stages of deregulation of the gas and electricity markets.

Richard is also Special Counsel at the communications firm Cannings Purple.

Richard holds a BA (Honours) and an MA degree from the University of Western Australia.


Cameron ParrotteCameron Parrotte

Executive General Manager
Western Australia, Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO)

In January 2016, Cameron was seconded to the AEMO focusing on the transfer of System Management out of Western Power to the AEMO. From April 2016 he began acting in the AEMO Executive General Manager Western Australia role and was formally appointed in July 2016. In this role Cameron provides leadership to the WA market operations, implementation of Electricity Market Review initiatives and accountability for system management.

Cameron joined Western Power (then the State Energy Commission of Western Australia) in 1992 as a cadet engineer and left in July 2016 as the Executive Manager Network Planning and Operations role. Cameron held numerous senior management and senior engineering positions covering technical, field and system operational aspects of electricity networks and markets.

Cameron has a Bachelor of Engineering (First Class Honours), a Bachelor of Commerce (Management major) and a Masters of Technology. He is a Chartered Professional Engineer, on the National Professional Engineers Register and is a member of the Institute of Engineers Australia."            


Hon Ben Wyatt MLA

Treasurer; Minister For Finance; Energy; Aboriginal Affairs

Ben Wyatt is Australia’s first Indigenous Australian treasurer and was appointed in March 2017.

Testament to his capability, capacity and strong work ethic, Mr Wyatt also holds the position as Minister for Finance, Energy and Aboriginal Affairs.

Mr Wyatt’s priority as a leader of the state is to focus on his pronounced Ministerial portfolio, his obligation to his constituents and to make a difference to the lives of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people across the state and the nation. Mr Wyatt is deeply committed to the principles of closing the gap in Australia.

Elected to the Legislative Assembly in a by-election, held in March 2006, Mr Wyatt was fast-tracked to fill the vacancy created when the Hon Dr Geoff Gallop resigned and has been serving the State for more than 10 years.

Prior to his appointment as a senior Minister in the current Government, Mr Wyatt held the positions of Shadow Treasurer and Shadow Minister for Federal State Relations, Aboriginal Affairs, Native Title and Government Accountability.

Mr Wyatt holds a Masters Degree with distinction from the London School of Economics,  Bachelor of Laws from the University of Western Australia and has also served on the National Board of Indigenous Business Australia as an officer in the Australian Army –  following his graduation from the Royal Military College, Duntroon.

In 2001, Mr Wyatt was awarded Young Australian of the Year in the Town of Victoria Park. Other accolades include a Rotary Ambassadorial Scholarship from the Rotary Club of Victoria Park for 2001 to 2002 and receiving the Australian Defence Medal in 2008.

Mr Wyatt’s career in earnest began in Western Australia as a barrister and solicitor where he served as counsel for the Director of Public Prosecutions.